Just some daily ramblings about anything and everything in life that I feel like talking about. No real agenda, but eventually you will get my angle.
Monday, November 1, 2010
VOTE! VOTE! VOTE!
Tomorrow is election day. As an American, you are blessed with the opportunity to choose freely, those who would lead our country. Please take advantage of that right which so many of our forefathers fought and died for. No matter your political affiliation, your leaning left or right, make your voice heard. Don't let this be another election where our percent of registered voters actually voting is below 50%. Get out and vote!!
Wednesday, October 27, 2010
Remember That You are an American!
This little piece of pride was sent to me by a friend. I think it pretty much says everything on this American's mind!!!
I Am the Democratic Liberal-Progressive's Worst Nightmare.
I am an White, Conservative, Tax-Paying, American Veteran, Biker.
I am a Master leatherworker. I work hard and long hours with my hands to earn a living.
I believe in God and the freedom of religion, but I don't push it on others.
I ride Harley Davidson Motorcycles, and drive American-made cars, and I believe in American products and buy them whenever I can.
I believe the money I make belongs to me and not some liberal governmental functionary, Democratic or Republican, that wants to share it with others who don't work!
I'm in touch with my feelings and I like it that way!
I think owning a gun doesn't make you a killer; it makes you a smart American.
I think being a minority does not make you noble or victimized, and does not entitle you to anything. Get over it!
I believe that if you are selling me a Big Mac or any other item, you should do it in English. I believe there should be no other language option.
I believe everyone has a right to pray to his or her God if, when and where they want to.
My heroes are Malcolm Forbes, Bill Gates, John Wayne, Babe Ruth, Roy Rogers, and Willie G. Davidson, who makes the awesome Harley Davidson Motorcycles.
I don't hate the rich. I don't pity the poor.
I know wrestling is fake and I don't waste my time watching or arguing about it.
I've never owned a slave, nor was a slave. I haven't burned any witches or been persecuted by the Turks, and neither have you!
I believe if you don't like the way things are here, go back to where you came from and change your own country!
This is AMERICA ...We like it the way it is and more so the way it was ...so stop trying to change it to look like Russia or China, or other socialist countries!
If you were born here and don't like it... you are free to move to any Socialist country that will have you. (And take Barack Hussein Obama and his group with you.) Massachusetts started the ball rolling. Keep it going.
I believe it is time to really clean house, starting with the White House, the seat of our biggest problems.
I want to know which church is it, exactly, where the Reverend Jesse Jackson preaches, where he gets his money, and why he is always part of the problem and not the solution.
Can I get an AMEN on that one?
I also think the cops have the right to pull you over if you're breaking the law, regardless of what color you are, but not just because you happen to ride a bike.
And, no, I don't mind having my face shown on my driver's license.
I think it's good.... And I'm proud that 'God' is written on my money..
I think if you are too stupid to know how a ballot works, I don't want you deciding who should be running the most powerful nation in the world for the next four years.
I dislike those people standing in the intersections trying to sell me stuff or trying to guilt me into making 'donations' to their cause.... Get a job and do your part to support yourself and your family!
I believe that it doesn't take a village to raise a child, it takes two parents....
I believe 'illegal' is illegal no matter what the lawyers think!
I believe the American flag should be the only one allowed in AMERICA !
If this makes me a BAD American, then yes, I'm a BAD American.
We want our country back! My Country.....
I hope this offends all illegal aliens.
My great, great, great, great grandfather watched and bled as his friends died in the Revolution & the War of 1812.
My great, great, great grandfather watched as his friends died in the Mexican American War,
My great, great grandfather watched as his friends & brothers died in the Civil War,
My great grandfather watched as his friends died in the Spanish-American War,
My grandfather watched as his friends died in WW I,
My father watched as his friends died in WW II,
I watched as my friends died in Vietnam, Panama & Desert Storm.
My son watched & bled as his friends have died in Afghanistan and Iraq .
None of them died for the Mexican Flag. Everyone died for the American flag.
Texas high school students raised a Mexican flag on a school flag pole, other students took it down. Guess who was expelled...the students who took it down.
California high school students were sent home on Cinco de Mayo, because they wore T-shirts with the American flag printed on them.
Enough is enough
This message needs to be viewed by every American; and every American needs to stand up for America .
We've bent over to appease the America-haters long enough. I'm taking a stand.
I'm standing up because the hundreds of thousands who died fighting in wars for this country, and for the American flag.
If you agree, stand up with me. If you disagree, please let me know. I will gladly remove you from my e-mail list/blog/Facebook.
And shame on anyone who tries to make this a racist message.
AMERICANS, stop giving away Your RIGHTS !
Let me make this clear! THIS IS MY COUNTRY !
This statement DOES NOT mean I'm against immigration !
YOU ARE WELCOME HERE, IN MY COUNTRY, welcome to come legally:
1. Get a sponsor !
2. Learn the LANGUAGE, as immigrants have in the past !
3. Live by OUR rules !
4. Get a job !
5. Pay YOUR Taxes !
6. No Social Security until you have earned it and Paid for it !
7. NOW find a place to lay your head !
If you don't want to forward this for fear of offending someone, then YOU'RE PART OF THE PROBLEM !
We've gone so far the other way . . . bent over backwards not to offend anyone.
I don't care if you are offended.
Why doesn't anyone care if I am offended?
WAKE UP America ! ! !
Made in the U S A & VERY, VERY PROUD OF IT!!!!!
Can I get a HUGE AMEN!?!?!?!?!?!
I Am the Democratic Liberal-Progressive's Worst Nightmare.
I am an White, Conservative, Tax-Paying, American Veteran, Biker.
I am a Master leatherworker. I work hard and long hours with my hands to earn a living.
I believe in God and the freedom of religion, but I don't push it on others.
I ride Harley Davidson Motorcycles, and drive American-made cars, and I believe in American products and buy them whenever I can.
I believe the money I make belongs to me and not some liberal governmental functionary, Democratic or Republican, that wants to share it with others who don't work!
I'm in touch with my feelings and I like it that way!
I think owning a gun doesn't make you a killer; it makes you a smart American.
I think being a minority does not make you noble or victimized, and does not entitle you to anything. Get over it!
I believe that if you are selling me a Big Mac or any other item, you should do it in English. I believe there should be no other language option.
I believe everyone has a right to pray to his or her God if, when and where they want to.
My heroes are Malcolm Forbes, Bill Gates, John Wayne, Babe Ruth, Roy Rogers, and Willie G. Davidson, who makes the awesome Harley Davidson Motorcycles.
I don't hate the rich. I don't pity the poor.
I know wrestling is fake and I don't waste my time watching or arguing about it.
I've never owned a slave, nor was a slave. I haven't burned any witches or been persecuted by the Turks, and neither have you!
I believe if you don't like the way things are here, go back to where you came from and change your own country!
This is AMERICA ...We like it the way it is and more so the way it was ...so stop trying to change it to look like Russia or China, or other socialist countries!
If you were born here and don't like it... you are free to move to any Socialist country that will have you. (And take Barack Hussein Obama and his group with you.) Massachusetts started the ball rolling. Keep it going.
I believe it is time to really clean house, starting with the White House, the seat of our biggest problems.
I want to know which church is it, exactly, where the Reverend Jesse Jackson preaches, where he gets his money, and why he is always part of the problem and not the solution.
Can I get an AMEN on that one?
I also think the cops have the right to pull you over if you're breaking the law, regardless of what color you are, but not just because you happen to ride a bike.
And, no, I don't mind having my face shown on my driver's license.
I think it's good.... And I'm proud that 'God' is written on my money..
I think if you are too stupid to know how a ballot works, I don't want you deciding who should be running the most powerful nation in the world for the next four years.
I dislike those people standing in the intersections trying to sell me stuff or trying to guilt me into making 'donations' to their cause.... Get a job and do your part to support yourself and your family!
I believe that it doesn't take a village to raise a child, it takes two parents....
I believe 'illegal' is illegal no matter what the lawyers think!
I believe the American flag should be the only one allowed in AMERICA !
If this makes me a BAD American, then yes, I'm a BAD American.
We want our country back! My Country.....
I hope this offends all illegal aliens.
My great, great, great, great grandfather watched and bled as his friends died in the Revolution & the War of 1812.
My great, great, great grandfather watched as his friends died in the Mexican American War,
My great, great grandfather watched as his friends & brothers died in the Civil War,
My great grandfather watched as his friends died in the Spanish-American War,
My grandfather watched as his friends died in WW I,
My father watched as his friends died in WW II,
I watched as my friends died in Vietnam, Panama & Desert Storm.
My son watched & bled as his friends have died in Afghanistan and Iraq .
None of them died for the Mexican Flag. Everyone died for the American flag.
Texas high school students raised a Mexican flag on a school flag pole, other students took it down. Guess who was expelled...the students who took it down.
California high school students were sent home on Cinco de Mayo, because they wore T-shirts with the American flag printed on them.
Enough is enough
This message needs to be viewed by every American; and every American needs to stand up for America .
We've bent over to appease the America-haters long enough. I'm taking a stand.
I'm standing up because the hundreds of thousands who died fighting in wars for this country, and for the American flag.
If you agree, stand up with me. If you disagree, please let me know. I will gladly remove you from my e-mail list/blog/Facebook.
And shame on anyone who tries to make this a racist message.
AMERICANS, stop giving away Your RIGHTS !
Let me make this clear! THIS IS MY COUNTRY !
This statement DOES NOT mean I'm against immigration !
YOU ARE WELCOME HERE, IN MY COUNTRY, welcome to come legally:
1. Get a sponsor !
2. Learn the LANGUAGE, as immigrants have in the past !
3. Live by OUR rules !
4. Get a job !
5. Pay YOUR Taxes !
6. No Social Security until you have earned it and Paid for it !
7. NOW find a place to lay your head !
If you don't want to forward this for fear of offending someone, then YOU'RE PART OF THE PROBLEM !
We've gone so far the other way . . . bent over backwards not to offend anyone.
I don't care if you are offended.
Why doesn't anyone care if I am offended?
WAKE UP America ! ! !
Made in the U S A & VERY, VERY PROUD OF IT!!!!!
Can I get a HUGE AMEN!?!?!?!?!?!
Friday, October 15, 2010
The Beginning of the War on Terror
![]() |
| The 3rd man from the left is believed to be the current Iranian president. |
America's war on terrorism did not begin in September 2001. It began in November 1979.
That was shortly after Ayatollah Khomeini had seized power in Iran, riding the slogan "Death to America" - and sure enough, the attacks on Americans soon began. In November 1979, a militant Islamic mob took over the U.S. embassy in Tehran, the Iranian capital, and held 52 Americans hostage for the next 444 days. The rescue team sent to free those hostages in April 1980 suffered eight fatalities, making them the first of militant Islam's many American casualties.
Others included:
April 1983: 17 dead at the U.S. embassy in Beirut.
October 1983: 241 dead at the U.S. Marine barracks in Beirut.
December 1983: five dead at the U.S. embassy in Kuwait.
January 1984: the president of the American University of Beirut killed.
April 1984: 18 dead near a U.S. airbase in Spain.
September 1984: 16 dead at the U.S. embassy in Beirut (again).
December 1984: Two dead on a plane hijacked to Tehran.
June 1985: One dead on a plane hijacked to Beirut.
After a let-up, the attacks then restarted: Five and 19 dead in Saudi Arabia in 1995 and 1996, 224 dead at the U.S. embassies in Kenya and Tanzania in August 1998 and 17 dead on the USS Cole in Yemen in October 2000.
Simultaneously, the murderous assault of militant Islam also took place on U.S. soil:
July 1980: an Iranian dissident killed in the Washington, D.C. area.
August 1983: a leader of the Ahmadiyya sect of Islam killed in Canton, Mich.
August 1984: three Indians killed in a suburb of Tacoma, Wash.
September 1986: a doctor killed in Augusta, Ga.
January 1990: an Egyptian freethinker killed in Tucson, Ariz.
November 1990: a Jewish leader killed in New York.
February 1991: an Egyptian Islamist killed in New York.
January 1993: two CIA staff killed outside agency headquarters in Langley, Va.
February 1993: Six people killed at the World Trade Center.
March 1994: an Orthodox Jewish boy killed on the Brooklyn Bridge.
February 1997: a Danish tourist killed on the Empire State building.
October 1999: 217 passengers killed on an EgyptAir flight near New York City.
In all, 800 persons lost their lives in the course of attacks by militant Islam on Americans before September 2001 - more than killed by any other enemy since the Vietnam War.
And yet, these murders hardly registered. Only with the events of 9/11 did Americans finally realize that "Death to America" truly is the battle cry of this era's most dangerous foe, militant Islam.
Many of these events were met with NO ramifications or actions by the U.S. Government. When we did, we lobbed a couple of cruise missiles into Yemen and took the verbal beating around the world as we were criticised for hitting what "appeared" to be a formula factory. The Embassy guards in Iran were not allowed to fight, so the War on Terror began without the U.S. even putting up a fight.
For those of you who claim Islam is a peaceful religion...prove it. Show ME pictures of Islamic Americans speaking out in protest against their militant Islamic brothers. I can show you pictures of Muslims around the world dancing in the streets when America was attacked. If you are proud to be an Islamic American...then show me, so I know that my service to my country is appreciated by you as well as my fellow non-Islamic Americans.
Wednesday, October 13, 2010
Who Should Pay?
While listening to talk radio the other day coming home from work, one of the DJs was discussing his dating. The discussion of who should pay for things on a date came up. Now the subject stated that he was "a man" and always paid. One of the others said he would split with his date and the female in the group said that she often paid her own way.While I was in high school, I often asked the girl to go dutch. I had a job but did not make much money. Once in a while I would pay for both, but sometimes it just wasn't possible. I too, was of the thinking that the guy should pay for it all, but had to allow her to pay too sometimes out of necessity.
As time wore on, it became more of me paying than not. Of course, with marriage it all combined anyway.
After my divorce and back into dating again, I paid for most things but allowed the woman to purchase a drink or two if she wanted without letting my ego get bruised. As I began dating my fiance', I would pay for most things but often she would pitch in to help out. Now, we often split the cost. If we go to a movie, one will pay for the movie, the other the snacks. Splitting the costs of dating or trips seems to take the financial pressure off of each other and allows us a better chance at doing some very awesome things.
As the guy on the radio was talking, I began to disagree with his "I'm a man" theory about having to pay for everything;. I think a relationship that is going to be equally based should be financially as well.
What do you think? Dutch or guy paying it all? See the poss on this page.
Wednesday, October 6, 2010
When DO You Deserve a Second Chance?
On Sunday a friend of mine on Facebook posted "Go Redskins" as they were playing the Eagles. With her being a huge animal lover, I knew she did not want Michael Vick to do well. Now, she and I poke at each other a lot and have very differing opinions on many things. So...being who I am, I poked the bear and commented on her post..."Go Vick!" expecting her to respond. She...did NOT, but a friend of hers did.
Instead, another friend of hers responded with a series of comments wishing bodily harm on Vick. Now, let me be perfectly clear. I do not condone what Michael Vick did with his dog fighting. However, I also am smart enough to see that he did 18 months in prison and has tried to make some sort of amends within the animal lovers community whether it be financially or with volunteer efforts. I can understand wanting him to fail in his bid to revive his career, or hoping he does poorly. But to wish another human bodily harm and I quote, "I hope someone breaks Vick's backbone in three places!", is just a little bit more than disturbing. When will he have done enough to make amends? Who is to say? At what point has he repaid that debt and can he be allowed to move on.
The biggest shock I had from this person's posting was that there was so much hatred for the man and such an unwillingness to allow him to have a second chance. Apparently, no matter what he does, Vick should never, ever be allowed to make a living doing anything, let alone play football. And cheering after he got hurt reminds me of the Muslims around the world cheering on 9-11 because some of their fellows had attacked the Great Satan. At some point, he must be allowed to make a living again and provide for his family.
The most disturbing part of this is the misplacement on value of life. I do not fault this gal's very passionate love of animals, but to put the value of an animal's life above that of a human being just doesn't make sense. Because he harmed and even killed dogs, he deserves to be hurt. Or, if I understand this girl's comment correctly, his backbone broken in three places, which would either kill him or paralyze him for life.
This gal has a zero tolerance policy for an athlete that makes a mistake. When I asked her why an athlete who gets stopped for DWI, who is accused/convicted of sexual assault, etc. is OK in her books to go ahead and play without her wishing him harm, she told me she didn't care what the other guys did, she was talking about Vick. But the others matter, because she states that if you do a crime, you should be gone...never to play again. Zero tolerance, no chance to make amends, no second chance. In her form of justice, it would seem that an eye for an eye is totally acceptable. Steal and lose your hand.
To my friend who had the joy of hosting this post...I am sorry that my attempt to get your goat a little bit brought this upon your page. I was just trying to give you a good-natured poke. You commented later on that Vick is a thug and had weapons charges and gambling issues. I am not sure of those, you may be right. But if they are true, should we still wish him bodily harm. Our love for our pets and other animals aside, should we really put the value of an animal above the value of a human? If that were true, no woman could ever wear makeup, for it was the unfortunate suffering of a rabbit that allows you to now put eyeliner and other makeup near your eyes and on your face.
The mistreatment of animals is not to be condoned, but neither should be, the desire for harm upon a person.
Instead, another friend of hers responded with a series of comments wishing bodily harm on Vick. Now, let me be perfectly clear. I do not condone what Michael Vick did with his dog fighting. However, I also am smart enough to see that he did 18 months in prison and has tried to make some sort of amends within the animal lovers community whether it be financially or with volunteer efforts. I can understand wanting him to fail in his bid to revive his career, or hoping he does poorly. But to wish another human bodily harm and I quote, "I hope someone breaks Vick's backbone in three places!", is just a little bit more than disturbing. When will he have done enough to make amends? Who is to say? At what point has he repaid that debt and can he be allowed to move on.
The biggest shock I had from this person's posting was that there was so much hatred for the man and such an unwillingness to allow him to have a second chance. Apparently, no matter what he does, Vick should never, ever be allowed to make a living doing anything, let alone play football. And cheering after he got hurt reminds me of the Muslims around the world cheering on 9-11 because some of their fellows had attacked the Great Satan. At some point, he must be allowed to make a living again and provide for his family.
The most disturbing part of this is the misplacement on value of life. I do not fault this gal's very passionate love of animals, but to put the value of an animal's life above that of a human being just doesn't make sense. Because he harmed and even killed dogs, he deserves to be hurt. Or, if I understand this girl's comment correctly, his backbone broken in three places, which would either kill him or paralyze him for life.
This gal has a zero tolerance policy for an athlete that makes a mistake. When I asked her why an athlete who gets stopped for DWI, who is accused/convicted of sexual assault, etc. is OK in her books to go ahead and play without her wishing him harm, she told me she didn't care what the other guys did, she was talking about Vick. But the others matter, because she states that if you do a crime, you should be gone...never to play again. Zero tolerance, no chance to make amends, no second chance. In her form of justice, it would seem that an eye for an eye is totally acceptable. Steal and lose your hand.
To my friend who had the joy of hosting this post...I am sorry that my attempt to get your goat a little bit brought this upon your page. I was just trying to give you a good-natured poke. You commented later on that Vick is a thug and had weapons charges and gambling issues. I am not sure of those, you may be right. But if they are true, should we still wish him bodily harm. Our love for our pets and other animals aside, should we really put the value of an animal above the value of a human? If that were true, no woman could ever wear makeup, for it was the unfortunate suffering of a rabbit that allows you to now put eyeliner and other makeup near your eyes and on your face.
The mistreatment of animals is not to be condoned, but neither should be, the desire for harm upon a person.
How Is Your Life Blessed?
With all the crazy things going on in the world; fear of terrorism, the economy, societal issues, it is easy for me to see how truly blessed I am. I am currently on a business trip and have left my two teen-aged children at home, basically alone with my fiance' stopping in to cook them evening meals. All I had asked her to do is cook meals for them. But, in her usual fashion, that is not enough. Last night she sat down with my daughter and discussed graduation and the items that would be needed to be purchased. They discussed her graduation pictures, which my fiance' will be taking. They discussed, bonded, and grew together further.Of course, the biggest blessings in my life are my kids. One is in college but continues to think of his family and helps when he can with issues. He is always there for me when I need to bounce an idea off him. My daughter and I have had our challenges this year. At 17, she is anxious to grow up, but still wants her daddy to take care of things. So, with a lack of communication between us, we have had some issues. We had a rough week a while back but we sat down, talked it over, and we are better now than before. Her attitude has completely changed and seems like a new person. I think she has done more than me, so I must do more. My youngest has just continued to amaze me. He has jumped on the whole idea of becoming a "big brother" to my fiance's two young boys. He has watched them for us when we have needed him to and he lets them hang around with him all the time. He has been so patient and tolerant. He is going to be a great big brother.
Now for those two young additions to my life. Each with his own, very unique personality and prior life with mom and dad, they present me with a challenge, but they have absolutely been another blessing in my life. Watching and dealing with the 5-year-old has been tough at times, but at others has been comic relief. These two boys are a wonderful addition to my life and I hope I can be a good father-figure to them as I feel I was to my own three.
I am also blessed with an awesome job, great friends, and relative health. These are but a few of the blessings that I have been given. They truly are too numerous to mention. The Lord has made me a very rich man...richer than I had ever hoped to be.
What are your blessings? Are they your talents? Your friends? Do you take advantage of your blessings and share them with others?
Wednesday, September 29, 2010
Answers to a Facebook String
Yesterday a link I posted was commented on and linked to another friend's wall. There it became a much more heated discussion than on my own wall. The full string can be found here:
Comment 1: Ok let's start with. "the bible is a catholic book. We gave it to them (Protestants).". How does that work?
Doug (we'll call him Doug since that is his name), the Bible was put together by the Church Fathers. A "canon" was opened, the books were chosen and the "canon" closed, never to be reopened and has never been questioned. The New Testament in a King James version Bible is the same as one that I would use in my Catholic faith. It is the Old Testament that differs a bit. The books that were decided upon were chosen out of many books at the time. The four Gospels are not the only ones written, but they were decided upon by the council that opened and closed the canon. The New Testament canon was merely a process of formal recognition of already recognized scripture that was being used in the early Church, to defend against the various forms of Gnosticism and heresy that were starting to creep throughout the ever-expanding church.
To be able to truly accept this however, will necessitate a person to first accept the fact that "The Church" that is spoken about in history at the time of this canon, was the early Catholic Church. If you cannot, or will not accept the fact that the Catholic Church of today is the same church that Jesus Christ created then you will be unable to follow my logic. All other churches, Protestant, broke away from the Catholic Church...it is a historic FACT.
Continuing on, following this logic then can only lead you to see that if the Catholic Church in it's early years put the writings of the Church into the New Testament, then the Bible you open today, came from the Catholic Church. Not too hard to follow really. And, by the way, King James never did endorse the version of the Bible that bears his name today.
Comment 2: Then let's go to how you talk to a fictitious character that, according to your story, died 2000 years ago (where do you get that Mary is a supernatural being that has current communication with a deity. If your Mary could sway the opinion/action of a deity doesn't that make her a deity. Does that make a quadrinity?)
First of all, I am going to move past the "fictitious character" part of this comment since Christians accept the fact that Mary existed, which is what I am presuming Doug is arguing. And if it is Jesus Christ you are questioning the existence of, then I offer the same argument. How do I know Pocahontas existed? Because history books say so. Weren't you raised Lutheran, Doug? Enough said on this point.
No one is saying that Mary is a "supernatural being". She is one of the Saints and is in Heaven. Stay with me, Doug, as I am speaking as a Catholic so I am writing from my beliefs. She would obviously have a very special relationship with her son, would she not? So, though I can pray directly to Him, and I do, I can also pray to her for her assistance...her "intercession". So I ask her to pray for me as well, to assist me in my requests from her son, whether it be for good health, a successful job interview, etc. Here is the simplest way to put it. My son wanted to begin getting his allowance back. He wasn't sure how to approach me (Father/God) about it, so he asked my fiance' (Mother/Mary) to talk to me about it, to lay the groundwork, so to speak. He asked her to "intercede" for him on his behalf. Pretty simple idea, really. Does my fiance's ability to sway me (Father) make her a father? No, she is still the "mother".
The reason non-Catholics have such heartburn with how we view Mary is because they don't understand. We do not worship her, we honor her, we venerate her. Nowhere in the Church teachings or beliefs are we "required" to pray to her, to honor her or anything. Many people do because we believe in the power of her intercession. If you look at the prayer, "Hail Mary", you will see that the first half is from her visit to her cousin Elizabeth. The second half is where we ask her to "pray for us sinners", for her help.
Comment 3: Oh and you screwed up f*&?#*s (I PG-Rated the word) equate women clergy with pedophiles? Yeah let's discuss.
I don't know who the "screwed up f*&?#*s" are that he is referring to, but if he means ME, since I am the one who wrote in this string, allow me to clarify his error. First of all, I did not equate them with pedophiles and it is my reasoning that the reason the Vatican did so was to show the gravity of the problem. For a Bishop to ordain a female would be commiting a sin that is considered on the same level as that of pedophilia, that is what they are saying. In the eyes of the Church, as I understand it, that false ordination is that serious. As I wrote in a string on the same topic on my wall when discussing the "ordination" of these women...performing the duties of a Priest (under false ordination) is blasphemy. Unlike the protestant churches, our Priests are so much more than a speaker behind a pulpit. Our whole Mass is focused around the Eucharist...where we believe that the bread and wine ACTUALLY BECOMES the Body and Blood of Christ. Not a symbol, no pretending...the real thing. So, to not have the authority of the Church to conduct the Mass, you are against it and therefore shall be excommunicated. That is how grave this issue is considered by the Church.
To Doug and to anyone else who would like to have a serious discussion about what Catholics believe on any given topic, I am ready and willing to answer any and all questions about the Church to the best of my ability. If I don't know the answer or am not sure of it, I will find you the correct answer. So many Protestants have misconceptions about what Catholics believe because they have been misinformed. Who knows, maybe I too, will learn some more about my Faith.
One of the posters had some very passionate and insightful comments and unfortunately, deleted them all. However, another poster, whom I have known for years, added his comments and quickly, so it seemed, took a very aggressive tone and asked some very direct questions, which I will respond to here...instead of on my friend's Facebook wall. So, here we go:
Comment 1: Ok let's start with. "the bible is a catholic book. We gave it to them (Protestants).". How does that work?
Doug (we'll call him Doug since that is his name), the Bible was put together by the Church Fathers. A "canon" was opened, the books were chosen and the "canon" closed, never to be reopened and has never been questioned. The New Testament in a King James version Bible is the same as one that I would use in my Catholic faith. It is the Old Testament that differs a bit. The books that were decided upon were chosen out of many books at the time. The four Gospels are not the only ones written, but they were decided upon by the council that opened and closed the canon. The New Testament canon was merely a process of formal recognition of already recognized scripture that was being used in the early Church, to defend against the various forms of Gnosticism and heresy that were starting to creep throughout the ever-expanding church.
To be able to truly accept this however, will necessitate a person to first accept the fact that "The Church" that is spoken about in history at the time of this canon, was the early Catholic Church. If you cannot, or will not accept the fact that the Catholic Church of today is the same church that Jesus Christ created then you will be unable to follow my logic. All other churches, Protestant, broke away from the Catholic Church...it is a historic FACT.
Continuing on, following this logic then can only lead you to see that if the Catholic Church in it's early years put the writings of the Church into the New Testament, then the Bible you open today, came from the Catholic Church. Not too hard to follow really. And, by the way, King James never did endorse the version of the Bible that bears his name today.
Comment 2: Then let's go to how you talk to a fictitious character that, according to your story, died 2000 years ago (where do you get that Mary is a supernatural being that has current communication with a deity. If your Mary could sway the opinion/action of a deity doesn't that make her a deity. Does that make a quadrinity?)
First of all, I am going to move past the "fictitious character" part of this comment since Christians accept the fact that Mary existed, which is what I am presuming Doug is arguing. And if it is Jesus Christ you are questioning the existence of, then I offer the same argument. How do I know Pocahontas existed? Because history books say so. Weren't you raised Lutheran, Doug? Enough said on this point.
No one is saying that Mary is a "supernatural being". She is one of the Saints and is in Heaven. Stay with me, Doug, as I am speaking as a Catholic so I am writing from my beliefs. She would obviously have a very special relationship with her son, would she not? So, though I can pray directly to Him, and I do, I can also pray to her for her assistance...her "intercession". So I ask her to pray for me as well, to assist me in my requests from her son, whether it be for good health, a successful job interview, etc. Here is the simplest way to put it. My son wanted to begin getting his allowance back. He wasn't sure how to approach me (Father/God) about it, so he asked my fiance' (Mother/Mary) to talk to me about it, to lay the groundwork, so to speak. He asked her to "intercede" for him on his behalf. Pretty simple idea, really. Does my fiance's ability to sway me (Father) make her a father? No, she is still the "mother".
The reason non-Catholics have such heartburn with how we view Mary is because they don't understand. We do not worship her, we honor her, we venerate her. Nowhere in the Church teachings or beliefs are we "required" to pray to her, to honor her or anything. Many people do because we believe in the power of her intercession. If you look at the prayer, "Hail Mary", you will see that the first half is from her visit to her cousin Elizabeth. The second half is where we ask her to "pray for us sinners", for her help.
Comment 3: Oh and you screwed up f*&?#*s (I PG-Rated the word) equate women clergy with pedophiles? Yeah let's discuss.
I don't know who the "screwed up f*&?#*s" are that he is referring to, but if he means ME, since I am the one who wrote in this string, allow me to clarify his error. First of all, I did not equate them with pedophiles and it is my reasoning that the reason the Vatican did so was to show the gravity of the problem. For a Bishop to ordain a female would be commiting a sin that is considered on the same level as that of pedophilia, that is what they are saying. In the eyes of the Church, as I understand it, that false ordination is that serious. As I wrote in a string on the same topic on my wall when discussing the "ordination" of these women...performing the duties of a Priest (under false ordination) is blasphemy. Unlike the protestant churches, our Priests are so much more than a speaker behind a pulpit. Our whole Mass is focused around the Eucharist...where we believe that the bread and wine ACTUALLY BECOMES the Body and Blood of Christ. Not a symbol, no pretending...the real thing. So, to not have the authority of the Church to conduct the Mass, you are against it and therefore shall be excommunicated. That is how grave this issue is considered by the Church.
To Doug and to anyone else who would like to have a serious discussion about what Catholics believe on any given topic, I am ready and willing to answer any and all questions about the Church to the best of my ability. If I don't know the answer or am not sure of it, I will find you the correct answer. So many Protestants have misconceptions about what Catholics believe because they have been misinformed. Who knows, maybe I too, will learn some more about my Faith.
Thursday, September 23, 2010
Enough Already!!!
Imagine my "surprise" this morning when I opened up CNN.com for my morning review and noticed a nice big picture of Pope Benedict with a story heading about another person getting ready to sue the Pope about what he knew about the pedophile cases. When will CNN finally let the story go and let the process work its way out!? Did anyone see, other than on my Facebook page, the story about the two teachers who were having sex parties in their homes with teenagers over the summer? I doubt it!!! It was hidden in some obscure paper in Georgia and only placed on The Drudge Report. Apparently, that is not newsworthy enough for the mainstream media. But a young man alleging sex abuse at a school for the deaf in Wisconsin is CNN Headline news! Wow!
Once again, the media buries the sensationalism of teacher sex parties with another story about priest sex abuse so as to keep the anti-Catholic hatred flowing. I am so glad I used my Journalism degree to get a commission in the Army so I don't have to work with the bottom feeders on this planet.
Thursday, September 16, 2010
Pope's Visit Exposes Anti-Catholicism

Pope Benedict's visit to England has been greeted with protests and negative media. It pains me to see such hateful speech and slander thrown the direction of a man such as him, much with no intelligent thought put into the words at all.
I understand that the Church has had to deal with sexual abuse of children and has not always done so quick enough or harshly enough. Most Catholics do not deny that the Church has had its challenges throughout history. I challenge you to find me one religion that has not. So let me make it clear that this blog entry in no manner is meant to trivialize what has happened to some people in the past at the hands of some deviant priests. But let's remember that not all priests are like that, and that not only priests do those horrible things...so do pastors, school teachers, doctors...etc.
As I have read the stories about the Pope's visit to the UK, I also read the comments at the bottom of the stories. I am amazed at how incredibly hateful they are. Many are also unbelievably inaccurate. One opinion piece was filled with so many half-truths about the Catholic Church that it completely misled the reader. False statements about why women cannot be priests, half truths about IVF and stem cell research. When uneducated, biased people spread their view of the Church without finding out the real reason for a practice, or teaching, or belief, it does nothing more than spread the hate. Just once, I would love to have a Protestant (especially a Baptist, since they are the most anti-Catholic religion out there) sit down with me and ask me to explain some beliefs of the Catholic Church to them. We are called idolaters, worshippers of Mary, blasphemers, all due to what they have been told or taught by someone who doesn't know the reasons or the teachings of the Catholic Church. Try to sit down an have that conversation though and it inevitably turns to an argument because the Protestant does not want to listen. They are more comfortable with their ignorance and hate. Not very Christian if you ask me.
So why this incredible anti-Catholic fervor these days? Is it really because of the sex abuse? If that were the case, we better hate all teachers because of the few who had sex with their students. Or is that OK because it was a woman and a boy? Or because it was not a religious person? Seems like a double standard at the least, and sheer hatred at the worst.
For those Catholics who were abused by a priest and have left the Church because of it...I think you made a mistake. It was the priest who abused you, not the Church. If it was covered up, it was not the Church who condoned it, but the people running it. It is during times such as those that you must turn to God and seek His help in bearing with your anguish. Forgiveness is a wonderful thing and lifts a mighty load off your shoulders.
I leave this posting with a piece from my parish priest he read to my Knights of Columbus group one evening: "I put up with the Church in the hopes it will some day be better, just as the Church puts up with me, in the hopes that I will some day be better."
Monday, August 9, 2010
What's In A Name?

Have you ever wondered why the check-out person at the grocery store has a name tag? Why does the sales clerk at the shoe store have a name tag? Is it so that if I am given rude service or substandard service, I can easily identify that person to the manager? I would venture to say that in the vast majority of instances, that is when MOST people notice a name tag.
One of the first things I noticed about my fiance', Selena, was that she always said "Hi" or struck up a conversation with a clerk by using their name. At first I found that "different", but then I tried it and found that my interactions with these people were more enjoyable. It became a more "personal" experience.
The other day I was driving through the front gate of the military installation I work at. There were a few cars ahead of me and I noticed the guard, checking the ID cards of the drivers in a typical ho-hum, bored manner. I mean, how exciting can that be, right? When I pulled up, as I now try to do, I looked for the name tag. I opened my window and greeted the guard with a cheerful, "Good morning Mr. "Jones"". His face brightened and a smile appeared and he greeted me much more warmly than he had been the others. He felt noticed!! Sometimes you notice some unusual names that become part of the interaction between you.
I think this is one of the most valuable lessons I have learned over the past few years...one that is easy to do and makes a difference almost every time. Yes, sometimes the person has no personality and would just as soon have you get out of their line...but usually, the response is a smile and cheerfulness.
Next time you are at the grocery store, or a restaurant, or anywhere that the person helping you has a name tag on...take the time to notice the name and use it as you talk to the person. Not only will you notice the pleasant reaction from that person, you too, will get something out of it.
Monday, May 17, 2010
Tough Being a Teenager Today!

I was talking with a friend the other day about the challenges I saw for kids today. As the father of two teenagers, we were specifically talking about the difficulty of getting the teenagers to not only go to church, but to see the importance in why they were there.
There is a family in our church who has 4 girls, 1 boy, another girl on the way. They do everything together and are a poster-Catholic family. This led to the discussion point: Why aren't my kids as focused on the family and on church?
I believe it has a lot to do with society's lack of acceptance of religion in our lives . Not the acceptance of Catholicism, but of religion in general. When I was growing up in the 70's & 80's, Wednesday night was off limits to the schools for activities. That evening was for the local churches to use for religion classes and such. Now, no such thing exists. In fact, my children's high school had activities on Holy Thursday and Good Friday, two important days in the Catholic Church and in other churches as well.
Also, when I was growing up and would go to church a lot during Lent, none of my friends harassed me about going. They were more or less ambivalent. The school was very accommodating and the teachers did not mind. I believe that today, if a kid came to school 15-20 minutes late several days a week during Lent, they would be in trouble. I do not believe the school would be very accommodating.
As a parent, I find it hard to teach my children the importance of God in their lives when everything around them says He is not. Entertainment, school, friends, everything seems to work against having a strong relationship with God. The 10 Commandments seem to be guidelines now instead of laws.
Society also teaches that if you can't touch it, feel it, taste it...it just doesn't exist. One of my favorite examples of knowing God is present in my life is simple. When I am faithful in my donations to the church...money always seems to be available when I need it most. When I decide not to write that check...I seem to have money problems. Try getting a teenager today to understand that "faith" connection. They just don't get that stuff.
As far as family time goes...so many things pull at the family's time. Kids need to work as soon as they can so they can have that car or get money for college. Both parents are working to make ends meet...there just isn't time, it seems, to nurture that family connection.
My greatest fear as a father is that after my children leave home they will never see the inside of a church again except at their wedding and their funeral.
Wednesday, April 28, 2010
Positive Change is not Always Fast

Today, in another of my readings in the "Purpose Driven Life" book I am STILL working on, there was another good lesson I want to share with you. So many people, it seems to me, have the attitude of wanting instant results. It is evident by our lifestyles. Mail fell to email which fell to texting, just so our response can be NOW. Even my children want things now. No saving up, or waiting to get something...they want it NOW. We have microwave ovens so our meals can be ready fast, little waiting.
Such is the same, sometimes with our relationships. We have a fight with a friend and we want it to be fixed immediately, but it may take more than that. We have marital problems and the problems that took years to manifest themselves, we want fixed with one visit to a counselor.
Our spiritual growth with God takes time. Personally, I have found a new relationship with God these past few months, but I have so far to go. I want that strong connection to Him and know that I am truly feeling what I want to feel about that relationship. Yet, sometimes I feel a bit shallow. Is my love for God, my relationship with him really as good as I want? Or is it superficial. It may be some of both. I see that I need to be patient, that God will help me to grow at a pace that He sees fitting...not at my NOW approach.
I offer you this. If your relationship with God is lacking...start small...it will grow. Start by saying a prayer as you start and end your day. Let God get a "beach head" in your heart...and soon he will have more of your heart's space.
Tuesday, April 13, 2010
Has God Become PC?

Lately I have noticed a lot of people talking about God, especially on the social media forums and in responses to stories. How He has blessed them, how He is there to lead you and care for you and love you, "copy and paste this testimony on your status", and of course the emails that you will forward if you believe in God. None of these things are wrong. I truly believe in the substance of what these folks are saying. Their words are not wrong, some of the writings obviously copied, but none the less inspiring. It is the sincerity of the post that I am interested in.
The question I have is...Has talking about God become the politically correct thing to post, or do these people really believe and live what they are saying? I pray that it is the latter and not the former. The reason I ask is that I know many of these people... have for many years. I do not remember some of them even knowing there was a church next door to their homes, let alone know what the inside of one looked like. Now, I understand that over the years, people mature, have kids, and find a need for God in their lives and so may have begun some sort of a relationship with God. Personally, to me...a true relationship with God must include regular attendance at the church of your choice. True worship is meant to be done in numbers.
I am not trying to pass judgement with this post. I am curious to hear if others out there find this interesting as well? If it is sincere, then that is truly awesome...but if folks are using God's name in order to make themselves look better...you better hope St. Peter has a bad memory when/if you show up at the pearly gates. Please, I think this could be an interesting discussion.
Thursday, April 8, 2010
Diarrhea of the Mouth

Once again, Iran's "leader"...Ima-Nutjob...I mean, Ahmadinejad is running off at the mouth about how much damage Iran will do to the U.S. or Israel if they are attacked. He talks about how all the American Servicemen in the region would go home dead and how he would control all the oil and shut down the golf. Wouldn't it be nice if just once....JUST ONCE....Uncle Sam picked up his fly swatter and whacked that pesky bug a good one?
Some of my reading on the topic today brought out some very good points that I am in hearty agreement with. First of all...former President Carter got us into this mess by being way too soft on the Iranians back in 1979. Instead of giving them an ultimatum to release the hostages, and yes, maybe losing some of them, he allowed them to win by keeping them for 444 days. As soon as Reagan took office, they knew they were in trouble and let them go.
Ever since 1979, we have been at war with the radical Islamists. Each attack against America: Beirut in 1983, the Cole, Yemen, were met with much too soft of an answer. Both political parties are to blame for this, but now we are fiddle-farting around with Iran again instead of letting them know that the World...and especially us, means business. Look at Qaddafi...after 9/11 he knew we weren't going to mess around and he denounced terrorism. If we don't pull that Big Stick out of the closet in the White House soon...it is going to get real ugly. And now our president says that we will never attack with nuclear weapons a nation who doesn't possess them themselves. What a bunch of crap! Whatever happened to the right of first strike! Oh, that's right...that went away with the Cowboy President when the smooth talker was voted in. I like cowboys!
We tend to talk too much these days, like with North Korea, and get no results. Those types of people only understand one thing...brute force! We allow them to hide behind our fear of collateral damage, killing civilians. Sorry...casualties of war! We are held hostage by our own foolish rules. Thousands, maybe millions of civilians were killed in WWII and no one said boo! Now, we kill 5 by accident and it is a war crime. Give me a break!
The worst thing that can happen is for Iran to have a nuclear bomb. The fact that they have nuclear materials at all scares me. They will not hesitate to provide it to a terrorist to use against us. I personally think our policy should be this. We know that N. Korea and Iran have these materials. In the event such an item is used on our country, we will strike, without hesitation or prejudice, those two countries. They will no longer exist. Maybe that will convince them to keep control on that material. Nuke them all and let Allah sort them out!
Tuesday, April 6, 2010
A Suggested Journey

During this past Lenten Season I endeavored to go through the book "A Purpose Driven Life" thinking it would give me a good opportunity to reflect and spend some time with God each day in something other than my daily prayer. I figured that it was 40 days of reading for 40 days of Lent...perfect! OK, well, maybe not...Lent is over, Easter has come and gone, and I am on Day 22, but still plugging along.
It really has been a good journey, filled with small insights about myself and my relationship with God and others. The book starts with a very simple phrase..."It's not about you"! If more people would keep that in the front of their brains, how much better the world would be. I acknowledge the fact that I have been guilty of often thinking it was about me. That is my struggle...fix that very big flaw in my personality.
I strongly suggest either buying this book, borrowing it from someone or checking it out at the library. You can get the companion journal and borrow the book...but give it a shot.
My favorite chapter was about being called to belong, not just to believe. It was one of my favorite readings for the day and spoke about the difference between being an attender at a church, or a member. From Rick Warren's book, "The difference between being a church attender and a member is commitment. Attenders are spectators from the sidelines; members get involved in the ministry. Attenders are consumers; members are contributors. Attenders want the benefits of a church without sharing the responsibility. They are like couples who want to live together without committing to a marriage."
Which one are You?
Monday, April 5, 2010
Blow 'em Away Tiger!!

I just finished watching Tiger's press conference after his practice round. I think this one seemed much more relaxed, more sincere than his first one. He was more open, more animated and seemed genuine. I honestly hope that people can now get off his case and let him get back to golf.
I personally, do not thing his personal life, or that of any public figure, is any of our business. He is a golfer...we pay money to watch him golf, not to be a good boy. That being said, I still do not condone infidelity and hope he and his wife get it straightened out. But that is their business, not mine. I just want to see him golf again...and I want to see him golf like he did years ago. I would love to see him blow the doors off The Masters and beat the field decisively, like by 10 strokes, but I will settle with him placing in the top 5. Good luck Tiger...I hope this monkey falls off your back soon!
Thursday, April 1, 2010
The Gates of Hell Shall Not Prevail!

I find it ironic that just as the holiest of seasons in the Catholic church approached, we were suddenly bombarded again with renewed allegations of sexual abuses in the church. They really started to heat up a couple of weeks ago. A noted Italian exorcist has stated that Satan is behind all the media attacks and the renewed fervor against the Church. I believe this to be true.
Satan will do anything to bring down Christ's church. What better way than to try to do it from within. Father Gabriele Amorth stated in his article, “He combats the Church through the men of the Church, but he can do nothing to the Church.” After all, priests and bishops are nothing more than men, prone to the same temptations and sin as the rest of us.
It is unfortunate, but not surprising that the liberal media feeds off the sins of others. It makes for good stories that sell newspapers and keeps a lazy, uninformed public watching the news. So many lies are told and facts twisted with little or no effort to find out the truth. I am not saying that reporting on the sex abuses should not be done, but let's at least try to tell a true story, one based on facts without a spin. And when someone tries to explain the Church's point of view, as Bill Donohue, president of the Catholic League has tried to do, he is shouted down, cut off, and not allowed to get a point across. No fairness in reporting any more.
I have full faith in my Church, that Satan and his cohorts will not destroy it, for Jesus called Peter (the first pope) the rock upon which He would build His church, and the gates of Hell would not prevail against it". I for one, trust Jesus and know that He will not let Satan destroy His Church.
Tuesday, March 30, 2010
Talk About Injustice!

Can you believe that Albert Snyder -- the Pennsylvania man whose Marine son's funeral was protested by Westboro Baptist Church -- has been ordered to pay over $16,000 to cover the cost of their appeals after he sued them and won? The Supreme Court is going to hear the case.
Wickipedia gives the following definition for the Westboro Baptist Church: The Westboro Baptist Church is an Independent Baptist church and hate group known for its hatred of gays. The organization is known for picketing at public events and funerals, often those related or peripherally related to gay people or soldiers in the military. Does this sound like a church to you?
I don't understand how this "church" can be so hateful. I know of no other church that preaches hatred as it's doctrine. What is worse...most of the protests include children. These kids carry signs and wear T-shirts that say "God hates fags" or "Your Pastor is a whore". It baffles me that this organization is not labeled the same as the KKK or the Skinheads. How can we let them hide behind the safety of a religion?
Thank God for groups like the Patriot Riders who keep these knuckleheads away from the funerals of most service members.
If I were Mr. Snyder, I would sling a few choice words at the judge and thank him as he sends me to prison because I sure wouldn't be paying one red cent to the Westboro Baptist Church!
I wonder if these people have any idea that their ability to be so hateful was provided by that young, dead Marine!!!
Monday, March 29, 2010
Recognize This Picture?

This picture shows the bodies of U.S. citizens hanging from a bridge in Fallujah, Iraq in 2004. The mastermind of this atrocity was captured by the Seals. He claims, that while under their control they beat him up, and he had the cut lip to show for it.
I heard on the news again today another story about these Seals. They are from the area I live in and the people here are furious that they are standing trial because an enemy "soldier", claims to have been struck. If they did, in fact, strike him...it cannot be construed as torture. It may have also happened as he was fighting with them or trying to escape.
Let us get something straight. Our enemies in Iraq cannot be considered soldiers (no uniforms, no "state"/country) and therefore do not technically fall under the Geneva Convention and even deserve to be treated as POWs, though we do, because we are a civilized nation. However, have one of our soldiers captured and they are tortured, paraded, humiliated...no where near treated in accordance with the Geneva Convention. So why do we do so? Because it is the right thing to do.
So...this guy gets a boo boo and the ACLU and other organizations start screaming because we are "abusing" the enemy. We need to treat them better so that they see our example and do the same...Ummm, it doesn't work!!!! Remember the decapitations?
Also, why are we allowing our enemies to be protected by the very Constitution they hate and despise? They are not Americans, therefore the Constitution does not apply. Nor do Miranda Rights or anything else. They are enemy combatants...prisoners of war. If they are to be treated by POWs, then according to the Geneva Convention, they cannot be tried for their actions in court...but they can be detained until hostilities cease. A good excuse for keeping Gitmo open!!! Why is our Government trying to make POWs into a class of criminal. Their actions are not criminal, they are done in a war. You capture them, if they are war crimes, a Tribunal takes care of it.
Back to these Seals. So we have taken three professionals at protecting you an me, off the streets. The Iraqi's see how we reacted and can now "say" they were abused and take some more off the street. These Seals should be lauded for their control for not beating the guy to death...he deserved it for what he did to our fellow countrymen on that bridge. If that doesn't make your blood boil...then the next time the Flag goes by you in a parade, look away...for you do NOT deserve to look at it.
I heard on the news again today another story about these Seals. They are from the area I live in and the people here are furious that they are standing trial because an enemy "soldier", claims to have been struck. If they did, in fact, strike him...it cannot be construed as torture. It may have also happened as he was fighting with them or trying to escape.
Let us get something straight. Our enemies in Iraq cannot be considered soldiers (no uniforms, no "state"/country) and therefore do not technically fall under the Geneva Convention and even deserve to be treated as POWs, though we do, because we are a civilized nation. However, have one of our soldiers captured and they are tortured, paraded, humiliated...no where near treated in accordance with the Geneva Convention. So why do we do so? Because it is the right thing to do.
So...this guy gets a boo boo and the ACLU and other organizations start screaming because we are "abusing" the enemy. We need to treat them better so that they see our example and do the same...Ummm, it doesn't work!!!! Remember the decapitations?
Also, why are we allowing our enemies to be protected by the very Constitution they hate and despise? They are not Americans, therefore the Constitution does not apply. Nor do Miranda Rights or anything else. They are enemy combatants...prisoners of war. If they are to be treated by POWs, then according to the Geneva Convention, they cannot be tried for their actions in court...but they can be detained until hostilities cease. A good excuse for keeping Gitmo open!!! Why is our Government trying to make POWs into a class of criminal. Their actions are not criminal, they are done in a war. You capture them, if they are war crimes, a Tribunal takes care of it.
Back to these Seals. So we have taken three professionals at protecting you an me, off the streets. The Iraqi's see how we reacted and can now "say" they were abused and take some more off the street. These Seals should be lauded for their control for not beating the guy to death...he deserved it for what he did to our fellow countrymen on that bridge. If that doesn't make your blood boil...then the next time the Flag goes by you in a parade, look away...for you do NOT deserve to look at it.
Wednesday, March 24, 2010
Such a Sad Story

I just read a very sad story about the backstreet abortions being done in Kenya. Kenya's abortion laws are much more strict than in the United States.
I don't want to take this blog down the tempting road and most likely heated discussion about the right or wrong of abortions. This could get very ugly and usually gets us nowhere. I think what should be examined is how do these young women get to this place.
I read some of the comments at the end of the story and it was disheartening to see that the comments quickly moved to blame the religious right, or how the churches aren't doing anything for these women. The story was not about what the churches were doing, I am sure they do a lot.
What is truly sad is that this story told of a 14-year-old girl who secretly became a prostitute to support her family, got pregnant, and died from a backstreet abortion. The horror of an abortion aside, what really needs to be looked at is how we can let a country get in such bad shape that people starve and have to do the things this girl did to survive. Then, when she gets pregnant, her only option (to her anyway) was to have an abortion.
I pray that someday, we will eliminate poverty and have situations like this. I also pray for the many babies who are aborted because of these situations and thrown out into the trash. Pro-life is not just being against abortion...that is anti-abortion. Pro-life is also ensuring that these youngsters in Kenya, and other nations like it, can grow up as children should, in a safe, loving environment to go forward in life and do great things. Pro-life is "protecting life"...all life!
Please read this story and educate yourself...then give to a charity that helps these people.
Monday, March 22, 2010
Still Strong After More Than 2000 Years!!

I had planned to write today on the Health Care bill that was passed last night, but I decided to write about something more positive and inspiring.
Yesterday, I spent the afternoon, as a sponsor for my girlfriend, at a retreat for the Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults (RCIA) class. This was a group of over 20 candidates from three local churches who will be brought into the Catholic Church Easter weekend. It was a hugely inspiring few hours and helped to rekindle my own faith.
At one point we sat in small groups and listened to the letters each candidate had written, telling of their journey and decision to become Catholic. Some of them were very touching and all were inspirational. You could tell, that when each of these people needed God the most, He was there for them. They also knew that when they turned away from Him, He was still there.
Some had never been much into any church, but most were converts of some sort. They had experienced the "feel good" churches, the entertainment value wearing thin quickly. They had partaken it the "buffet style" so many churches offer, picking the parts you like and ignoring the ones you don't. They found true substance in the Catholic church, an authority traced back to Jesus himself, not to some guy who got is pastoralship off the Internet for a tax write-off.
They were also given the opportunity to go through their first Confession, Catholic style. You don't think that confessing to a "man" who is sitting in as Christ's repesentative is powerful? Ask the young lady who came out of her first Confession with tears streaming down her face and said how wonderful she felt. She knew that huge weight was now off her shoulders. To actually hear someone say..."your sins are forgiven you" is much better than hoping they are.
The desire to learn more by one of the young ladies was exhilarating. She wants to read and find out more. Yes, she will encounter some of the ugly parts of the Church's history, but we have never run from that. All the candidates know it is hard to be Catholic. They will be questioned, criticized, and ridiculed for being Catholic. Armed with Christ's words and as discussed yesterday afternoon as we talked about the Eight Beatitudes: Blessed are they that suffer persecution for justice' sake, for theirs is the Kingdom of Heaven. They know the stories in the news about priests who have abused children. Yet they also know that these are men...sinners like us all...and that the Church is God's church and will NOT fall to the sins of men.
Watching these new candidates, their hunger and thirst for more (another Beatitude: Blessed are they that hunger and thirst after justice: for they shall have their fill ) caused me to reflect on my own relationship with God and realize that I too, have a lot of work to do. As a cradle-Catholic, I want my hunger and thirst for God to be as strong as these candidates.
I hope this was less controversial than the Health Care bill...may God help us with that one too!
Friday, March 19, 2010
Final Flight

A friend of mine from my Knight's of Columbus Council lost his son last Sunday after a 12-year battle with cancer. Chris was a retired Air Force Tech Sergeant and his body was to be flown from San Antonio, TX to Norfolk, Va for internment at the National Cemetery in Hampton.
His flag-draped casket was escorted by two service members as is customary. They went down on the tarmac to ensure a respectful load and send-off, then boarded the plane themselves. In Atlanta, there was a stop and a crew change. Apparently, at this time, the important information that a deceased retiree was on board was not passed along.
When the plane landed in Norfolk, VA, the two escorts were not allowed to go down on the tarmac to supervise the unloading of Chris's body as is normally done. As they and the father of Chris (my friend) watched from their vantage point, they witnessed his flag-draped coffin be loaded on a baggage cart and luggage from the flight thrown on top of it. This disgusts me, that they would not only desecrate the body of someone, but especially one that is draped with a flag. The gentleman who had been taking care of Chris for several years had to be restrained and removed from the baggage area...he was ready to go ballistic on someone.
When my friend called the "Delta Cares" number, he was told that it was impossible that happened. After calling the person on the phone the "son of a female dog", he explained that he had witnessed it himself. No apology was given and he was told that the workers were contractors, not employed by the airline.
My friend told them he will settle for nothing less than the firing of the people who treated his son's body as they did. Worst of all...the airline's reaction was despicable. I, for one, will NEVER fly Delta again if at all within my power.
Wednesday, March 17, 2010
ACLU Sues Government Over Drones

The following article appeared on Politico.com on March 16, 2010:
By Jen DiMascio
The American Civil Liberties Union sued the federal government Tuesday to learn the use of unmanned drones for targeted killings by the military and CIA.
“In particular, the lawsuit asks for information on when, where and against whom drone strikes can be authorized, the number and rate of civilian casualties and other basic information essential for assessing the wisdom and legality of using armed drones to conduct targeted killings,” the ACLU said in a statement, announcing its action.
The nonprofit civil liberties group filed initial Freedom of Information Act requests with the Defense, Justice and State departments and with the Central Intelligence Agency on Jan. 13. Only the CIA responded, and the ACLU is pursuing that request with an appeal to the agency.
The military and intelligence communities have increasingly relied on Predator and Reaper unmanned drones to capture video imagery and launch deadly missile strikes, particularly lately in Afghanistan and neighboring Pakistan. The Pentagon, especially, continues to purchase more and more drones each year.
A New American Foundation study, cited in Jane Mayer’s October 2009 New Yorker piece that drew attention to the CIA’s use of killer drones, found the number of attacks has continued to grow under the Obama administration – from 34 in 2008 to 43 by October of 2009.
“The government's use of drones to conduct targeted killings raises complicated questions – not only legal questions, but policy and moral questions as well,” said Jameel Jaffer, director of the ACLU National Security Project. “These kinds of questions ought to be discussed and debated publicly, not resolved secretly behind closed doors. While the Obama administration may legitimately withhold intelligence information as well as sensitive information about military strategy, it should disclose basic information about the scope of the drone program, the legal basis for the program and the civilian casualties that have resulted from the program.”
Charles Miller, a spokesman for the Justice Department, which is a defendant in the suit filed in U.S. District Court in Washington, said he had not yet seen the complaint.
“The bottom line is that we will review the compliant once we receive it and make a determination as to how we'll respond in court,” he said.
The Defense Department, another defendant, had no immediate comment.
The American Civil Liberties Union sued the federal government Tuesday to learn the use of unmanned drones for targeted killings by the military and CIA.
“In particular, the lawsuit asks for information on when, where and against whom drone strikes can be authorized, the number and rate of civilian casualties and other basic information essential for assessing the wisdom and legality of using armed drones to conduct targeted killings,” the ACLU said in a statement, announcing its action.
The nonprofit civil liberties group filed initial Freedom of Information Act requests with the Defense, Justice and State departments and with the Central Intelligence Agency on Jan. 13. Only the CIA responded, and the ACLU is pursuing that request with an appeal to the agency.
The military and intelligence communities have increasingly relied on Predator and Reaper unmanned drones to capture video imagery and launch deadly missile strikes, particularly lately in Afghanistan and neighboring Pakistan. The Pentagon, especially, continues to purchase more and more drones each year.
A New American Foundation study, cited in Jane Mayer’s October 2009 New Yorker piece that drew attention to the CIA’s use of killer drones, found the number of attacks has continued to grow under the Obama administration – from 34 in 2008 to 43 by October of 2009.
“The government's use of drones to conduct targeted killings raises complicated questions – not only legal questions, but policy and moral questions as well,” said Jameel Jaffer, director of the ACLU National Security Project. “These kinds of questions ought to be discussed and debated publicly, not resolved secretly behind closed doors. While the Obama administration may legitimately withhold intelligence information as well as sensitive information about military strategy, it should disclose basic information about the scope of the drone program, the legal basis for the program and the civilian casualties that have resulted from the program.”
Charles Miller, a spokesman for the Justice Department, which is a defendant in the suit filed in U.S. District Court in Washington, said he had not yet seen the complaint.
“The bottom line is that we will review the compliant once we receive it and make a determination as to how we'll respond in court,” he said.
The Defense Department, another defendant, had no immediate comment.
My thoughts: Here is another case of the ACLU getting involved in something they should not be. First of all, it is not there place to worry about the civil liberties of another country's people...they screw up our just fine! Secondly, what business do they have getting into military affairs and how we wage war? This organization seems to me, to be very un-American, very much out there doing a lot of no good for the American people. 9 times out of 10, they are messing up a situation instead of helping it. Over the past few years they have done everything they can to protect the enemy and ensure that OUR Constitution is used to protect THEM. I think the organization should be brought up on charges of treason. This is an organization that has, in my opinion, worn out its welcome on the American landscape.
Tuesday, March 16, 2010
Democracy Without a Vote...Part of Obama's Change?

The Democrats are doing it again. Once again, legislation the American people do not want is going to be thrust upon us and railroaded through Congress. President Obama has been thumping his chest, telling Congress to get health care reform done without even listening to the people he is supposed to "lead". Instead he is acting like a ruler! Several of the Democratic Congressmen who are still on the fence are from states who overwhelmingly do NOT want this bill passed, yet they may do so anyway. Aren't they supposed to do what WE want?
Now, Pelosi also may try to help unhappy House Democrats by allowing them to avoid a direct up-or-down vote on the Senate bill. She may call for a vote on a rule that would simply "deem" the Senate bill to be passed. The House then would proceed to a separate vote on the more popular changes to the Senate bill. How convenient that names would then not be able to be placed on the blame line come election time!
Now, let's ignore the whole Democrat vs. Republican, Liberal vs. Conservative part of this argument and look at the process. Health care does need to be looked at and fixed, everyone agrees to that. But shouldn't it be done so that it is acceptable to the people who will be affect and will have to pay for it? There are several areas that cause concern for all sides...the abortion issue, the raising of insurance rates, taxing higher-end insurance. Congress needs to take the time to do this right, the way the people governed want it, and not be forced to be hasty by a president hell-bent on getting an accomplishment under his belt.
Come on Congress...remember that this is a democracy...you are supposed to vote the way your constituents want it, not the way you want it.
Thursday, March 11, 2010
Argument or Discussion?

When does a topic meant as an innocent observation turn into an argument? Why does it not become a simple discussion? Let's look at a recent posting by a friend on Facebook on the topic of the young girl dismissed from a Catholic school because her parents were lesbian (on the surface at least, that was the reason given). As soon as posts were added that were on opposite sides of whether this was right or wrong, the gloves came off and it was war!
Why did this go to an argument, with some fairly harsh and biting words, instead of being a topic ripe for discussion?
My first theory is the fact that it is such an emotionally charged topic...that of gay parents, or gay rights, or what have you. Does the level of emotion associated with a topic affect its ability to be discussed without it turning into an all out fight? In the case of this posting, it would seem so. It was as if neither side wanted to hear the other's reason for their view. It seemed necessary that one side or the other had to be right, and the other wrong. Their view was unimportant.
My other theory is that of the "pot stirrer", or maybe in this case...the "bear poker". We place a topic out there, fully aware that it is going to raise much contention, just to see what happens. Sometimes this is done by people who see a hot topic that they really have no interest in, but they know it will get the ball rolling. Other times it is one they are fully vested in but they are looking for a scrap.
I now fully understand why they say that the two topics that should never be discussed at a party or gathering of some sort are politics and religion. Bring up a topic that touches both and you have the makings of WWIII! Abortion, gay marriage, and God in the schools will start the bullets flying!
It is unfortunate that it has to be this way...or so it would seem. Some of these topics would be so interesting to debate in an organized fashion. Not trying to prove one side or the other right or wrong, but to honestly try to see where the each side is coming from. Maybe that is why so little seems to get done in the Congress. They always have to have it their way only.
I know that I don't always want to hear what the other side has to say, but I hope to get better. I just find it hard to when the other side of the issue gets stuck on stupid and takes it immediately to an argument. Let's meet in the middle and have some adult conversation about those topics that affect us all.
Friday, March 5, 2010
Sparky 1995-2010

Today my children and I said good-bye to a loving friend. Sparky had been in our family for almost 13 years. We found him in the pound in Fargo, ND. A strange place to find a pure-bred Pomeranian...we fell in love with him immediately. Sparky had many friends around the neighborhood. He would bark at everyone and spin around in circles in excitement. People were constantly telling me how beautiful his coat was and how it must be a lot of work to maintain. I would just smile and say, "Nope, he is naturally beautiful".
As today approached I tried to tell myself that he was "just a dog". I shouldn't get so emotional. He wasn't just a dog. He was a dear friend to my kids and to me. He was every bit a part of the family. Why is it that we fall in love so hard with our pets, yet have a hard time loving other humans the same way? Is it the unconditional love they give you back? Sparky never wanted anything more than a belly rub once in awhile.
Even with our other six animals, this house seems a bit emptier now. Sparky will never be forgotten in our hearts.
Thursday, March 4, 2010
Just What Is the Nuclear Option?

First of all, a definition of the Nuclear Option as defined in Wikipedia:
In U.S. politics, the nuclear option is an attempt by a majority of the United States Senate to end a filibuster by invoking a point of order to essentially declare the filibuster unconstitutional which can be decided by a simple majority, rather than seeking formal closure with a supermajority of 60 senators. Although it is not provided for in the formal rules of the Senate, the procedure is the subject of a 1957 parliamentary opinion and has been used on several occasions since.
In U.S. politics, the nuclear option is an attempt by a majority of the United States Senate to end a filibuster by invoking a point of order to essentially declare the filibuster unconstitutional which can be decided by a simple majority, rather than seeking formal closure with a supermajority of 60 senators. Although it is not provided for in the formal rules of the Senate, the procedure is the subject of a 1957 parliamentary opinion and has been used on several occasions since.
The maneuver was brought to prominence in 2005 when then-Majority Leader Bill Frist (Republican of Tennessee) threatened its use to end Democratic-led filibusters of judicial nominees submitted by President George W. Bush. In response to this threat, Democrats threatened to shut down the Senate and prevent consideration of all routine and legislative Senate business. The ultimate confrontation was prevented by the Gang of 14, a group of seven Democratic and seven Republican Senators, all of whom agreed to oppose the nuclear option and oppose filibusters of judicial nominees, except in extraordinary circumstances.
In 2005, then Senators Obama, Biden, and Clinton, all spoke out against the use of the Nuclear Option, with Senator Biden using the strongest language. (Listen to them here: www.youtube.com/watch?v=SjdbjrXiobQ ) Now...all three are threatening to use this as the only way to force a new policy upon America which the country's people do NOT want. How is that democratic? When did the Congress stop listening to what the people want and just do what THEY want to do? Must have been when their self-interests and re-elections became more important than the people they serve.
We need health care reform, but not the kind that destroys what is working in the interest of change. We need to fix what we have, not start over. Get the lawyers off the doctor's backs and prices can go down. Regulate a little if necessary, but don't ruin my health care so that the person too lazy to work can go have their 4th free child! My health care and that of my military brethren is directly threatened by the President's idea of "change". I can't wait for my medical care to be put on hold so we can let the military hospital take care of the the "lower end" of the population on the "Obama Medical Plan".
Let's do this thing right. That means not rushing it...and not jamming it down the American peoples' throat.
Tuesday, March 2, 2010
It Was Bound to Happen

Looks like email, Twitter, Facebook and texting has finally caught up to the Postal Service. The cost of doing business is getting too great for the USPS and they will propose today, as part of their cost-saving efforts, to end Saturday service. It has been a long time coming. We are one of the few nations that has Saturday delivery.
From my point of view, it was a mistake to require the USPS to be self-sufficient. Tax-payer money should be used to fund them, then we would be able to maintain all the services we have become accustomed to.
As a stamp collector, I have watched my hobby take a beating from the cutbacks. Where there used to be Philatelic windows at some post offices, they are now shuttered or perhaps manned minimally. Interestingly, many clerks do not like giving stamp collectors the time to look at the available stamps and make a purchase, even though a purchase by a collector is 100% profit as no letter gets delivered. A few, and I do mean "few", post offices have retail stores where you can shop for postal items, including packaged stamps, as if in a store. More of those would be nice and could make money for the Post Office.
It is hard to watch the Post Office fight of this illness caused by technology, but don't fret...junk mail will keep the Post Office from dying.
Friday, February 26, 2010
Johnny Cash 1932-2003

Today is Johnny Cash's birthday...he would have been 78. He died in 2003 less than four months after his wife, June Carter Cash, whom he loved tremendously. It has been said he died of a broken heart from missing her so much.
I grew up listening to Johnny Cash on my dad's record albums and his reel-to-reel tape machine on Sundays after church. I knew every song and knew, instantly, that Johnny Cash sound. His songs were so pure and spoke to everyone. No country singer, in my opinion, has ever touched the landscape of America like he did. Not Garth Brooks, not Tobi Keith, not Reba. No one did so much over his career.
If you haven't seen the movie "Walk the Line", it is more than worth the price to rent. I saw a call to wear black today to honor Johnny Cash...I, for my part...am just listening to his music.
Thursday, February 25, 2010
Enough Already NBC!!!!

Has anyone else noticed the ridiculous amount of coverage given this Winter Olympics to one of the most mundane sports in existence? That sport being...curling! Yes, the extremely competitive and grueling sport that is a winter version of shuffleboard without the really old people. I am not saying it is not a difficult thing to do, sliding a round rock down the ice to hit a target, all the while "sweeping" the ice to help control it, but C'mon Man!! Enough is enough!
There has been more prime-time space on NBC and MSNBC given to curling than to any other individual sport...at least it appears so to my untrained eye. Want to watch a hockey game that does not include the U.S.A, Canada or Russia and has no medal implications? Fat chance! Ice dancing has also had its fair share of coverage but not near the same as curling.
Last night I turned on the Olympics, hoping to see something good even though the skiing and bobsledding events are done...only to be presented with the finals of women's curling! I am even from a part of the country that has curling arenas and I still know nothing about the "sport", nor do I want to. Please IOC, don't let NBC cover the Olympics again. They tend to screw up every sporting event they cover.
Wednesday, February 24, 2010
"Separation of Church & State" NOT in Constitution

There have been a few comments on my Facebook page about a posting I placed of a blog I had done back in October, which addressed prayer in schools being absent. I thought I would do a little research on the separation of church and state.
I have always claimed that the true meaning behind that phrase was that no church would be made the "Church of America". Turns out, I was right. In addition to that, it also was originally meant to keep the State out of Church business, not the Church out of State business. America has always been a Christian nation. In fact the Supreme Court in 1892 gave what is known as the Trinity Decision. In that decision the Supreme Court declared, "this is a Christian nation." John Quincy Adams said, "The highest glory of the American Revolution was, it connected in one indissoluble bond, the principles of civil government with the principles of Christianity." That is one of our Founding Fathers, folks! Can't be made any clearer. According to the website "All About History", at the time of the Constitutions writing, America was 90-95% "practicing" Christian. The common number tossed around these days is about 85% are Christian (not necessarily practicing). So why is it, then, that anything in society that lets Christianity out of the churches gets squashed? No Ten Commandments on government property, no displays of the Nativity, no allowing a Christian holiday to be celebrated its true way...(Christmas, Easter).
We are letting the minority of Americans twist the meaning of the Constitution in a way that is far off the meaning of the Founding Fathers. Sounds to me like a lot of Christians in that majority number of 85% are denying Christ. It is unfortunate that in society today we are so bent on removing God from our daily lives. Wonder why your life isn't going just how you want it to or why the world seems to be going to hell in a hand basket...ask God!!
We are letting the minority of Americans twist the meaning of the Constitution in a way that is far off the meaning of the Founding Fathers. Sounds to me like a lot of Christians in that majority number of 85% are denying Christ. It is unfortunate that in society today we are so bent on removing God from our daily lives. Wonder why your life isn't going just how you want it to or why the world seems to be going to hell in a hand basket...ask God!!
For a very good article on the REAL meaning behind the phrase "separation of church and state", follow this link to All About History: http://www.allabouthistory.org/separation-of-church-and-state.htm
Tuesday, February 23, 2010
Ever Been Hit by the Karma Bus?

Why is it that people can never leave well enough alone and then wonder why they end up getting run over by the Karma Bus? You warn a person..."don't do 'A', it will bring nothing good in the future", and that person ignores you and doesn't just do "A", they do "B", and "C" too. Does that person not deserve, then, to get run over by the Karma Bus when the other person, or life in general, does "D"? If all life's lessons must be learned by getting run over by that Bus...it is going to be a rough life.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)



